Everything you know is wrong

Farhan Thawar’s rants

Inverting my closet

So I was putting my clothes from the laundry basket back into my closet just now and I began wondering how I could better optimize my closet layout.  There are three* main problems.
  1. Too many clothes
  2. Many clothes not being worn
  3. Some clothes are on hangars, some in bins and some on a shelf, so the new system would have to work within those constraints**

Solution : Closet Inversion (or 1/closet )

So, I figured that I’d follow the age old tradition of "If you haven’t worn it in 1 year, you must throw it out".  In my case, throwing it out meant giving it to Erika’s cousin.  But how would I mark the clothing in a way that was easy and that would let me know that I hadn’t worn an item in over a year?  Simple. 

  1. Write today’s date on a post-it note (with the year!) and post it somewhere in your closet. 
  2. Since I like my hangars all lined up with the open-ends pointing into the closet, I took all my clothes and turned the hangars around.   Now all the hangars had the open-end pointing outwards.
  3. I took all my clothing on the shelfs, and also reversed them.  So before if I had my jeans all lined up with the folds pointing outwards, now they were pointing inwards.
  4. The closet is now ready.  Now everytime I wear something, when I put it back, I put the hangar in the regular way (open-end towards the inside), or put my jeans back with the fold towards the outside.
  5. In one year (you have the date on the post-it note remember!), examine the closet.  For every item that has the hangar inverted, or fold inverted (for things on the shelf), toss it.  You haven’t worn it in a year!

This system has the nice property that, when you put things back into the closet, you put them back in in the way you are used to.  The only pre-think you need is to set-up the closet in the first place.  The downside is that if you start now, you won’t start getting rid of any clothes until a year out.

*For those who know me, know that I rigorously follow the McKinsey three model (I made up this name).  In this model, all data is represented in groups of three after taking a course on presentations and finding out that McKinsey does this.

**This solution does not work for the items in the bins like socks, underwear and pyjamas.  Instead, I use the relatively populary "If it has a rip in it, throw it out" system.  This means I have lots of socks, underwear and pyjamas in relation to other clothing.

June 14, 2007 - Posted by | Health and wellness

2 Comments »

  1. dude… this is a bit anal… do you organize your clothes from light to dark as well??
    what happens in the case of trying something on, and then deciding not to wear it? does that go back in inverted? or does the potential to have worn it give it life?
    btw – what are the 3 groups? i only see 2 – inverted, and non inverted.

    Comment by The Funk Stop wrote: | June 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. This is exactly about not being anal.  Once the closet is setup, you don’t have to do any extra work, that’s why it’s cool.  The three groups were hangar, bins and folded clothes.  It only works for the hangared and folded clothes.  If you try it on and don’t put it on, then you should put it back inverted.

    Comment by Farhan Thawar | June 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment